Four New Circuit Court Locations Were Just Named

Four New Circuit Court Locations Were Just Named


By Jessica VanEgeren

March 10, 2020

New circuit court branches to open by August 2021 in Calumet, Dunn, Jackson, Marathon counties

The counties of Calumet, Dunn, Jackson and Marathon are the first locations chosen for new circuit court branches following passage of a bill earlier this month by Gov. Tony Evers to create 12 new branches.  

Randy Koschnick, the director of state courts, said Monday he made the decision based on caseload analysis, a demonstrated judicial need, county board support in each respective county and the ability to have the necessary facilities and support in place by Aug. 1, 2021.  

Elections for the judgeships in the selected counties will be held during the 2021 Spring Election.

“This is the beginning of the process established by the Legislature that will help the court system address judicial needs during the next three years,” Koschnick said in a statement.

The counties selected for new judgeships are also among counties that received funding in the current state budget for additional assistant district attorney positions.

“This approach not only makes sense for the court system, but also for the efficiency of operations of the justice system as a whole,” Koschnick said.

Last Thursday, Evers signed a bipartisan bill approving the creation of 12 new circuit courts in Wisconsin. Four new courts will open in August of 2021, August of 2022 and again in August of 2023.


Related Stories
Share This